Ships in the night

image

we watched the ships come in and we sat on the marble steps

ice cream cones and there was this ship

this huge ship just looming over us

I’ll never forget us

I’ll never forget the way your hair forgot to curl in certain places

or the excitement on your face when you were talking about something you loved

I wish I could have that enthusiasm

we sat on my stone garden steps and watched the dog in the window

you told me about the origin of ants and I just thought, wow, you know a lot about nothing

we said we would miss this place

sweet potato and paneer, I wish you were here

I’m sorry that this wasn’t perfect.

Leave a Reply

